- Bookings & Enquiries
- 02380 282 922
The Crown Manor House Hotel is steeped in history and has occupied it’s commanding position at the top of Lyndhurst High Street albeit in different forms since the 15th century.
It is believed that a coaching inn known originally as the Kings Arms Inn became The Crown Hotel around the end of the 17th Century.
The Crown Hotel is shown prominently on an 18th century map of the area opposite the parish church.
A substantial rebuild took place in 1896 and directories of the time clearly advertise The Crown Hotel with stabling and the change of horses being available.
At the main entrance a huge stone block can still be seen which was used to assist travellers on and off their horse drawn carriages. Mid-19th Century a horse drawn taxi service was advertised from the Crown Hotel to the newly opened Lyndhurst Road railway station priced at 1 shilling… and the reason we have a huge fire place right by the front door? To allow riders to warm up immediately upon entry to The Crown after a long ride.
Our Hotel in the New Forest has many original features; our lift is rumoured to be the oldest in Europe and was once only fuelled by diesel; it may creak and groan with character, but don’t worry… it’s not weak, it’s strong.
The New Forest National Park is known for its forests, moors and regal connections, which date from the reign of William the Conqueror almost a thousand years ago. The ponies, which are owned by the New Forest commoners, graze freely in a lovely green landscape and deer move among ancient woods.
Besides its natural beauty, the New Forest offers the life of traditional English villages, pubs with the possibility of water sports, beautiful walks and cycle tracks. All this makes the New Forest one of the most beautiful and fascinating in Britain.